Why I never got on the Hamster wheel in the first place.

My father always taught me, “If your not going to do it right, then dont do it at all.”

In residency, I was scheduled patients every 10mins because i had to “learn how to maintain a practice”.

I hated it. My patients hated it. At the end of the day my care sucked. not because I was a poor doctor but simply because I had no where near enough time to “Do it right!”

That was almost 10yrs ago, I now have a housecall practice where I see 8-10 patients a day giving each my undivided attention.

I work my butt off and have full days, but at the end of the day my patients are happy and I am proud of the work I have done. I love what I do.

I’m a little tired of hearing this argument of how “If Primary care docs start only seeing 10-15 patients a day, then who’s going to see everybody else?” This argument always seem to come from academics who have rather cushy pay and benefits with no real worries of malpractice or billing issues as they are shielded by their institutions. Quite disingenuous for such academics to bemoan how “WE all suffer” because some physicians (who don’t have institutional protections and benefits) have decided to practice in a simpler more full filling way. Which, by the way, as Dr Drummond noted does not have to be cost prohibitive…. Why when we talk about PCPs making a little more money we are somehow demonized for it?

Why should I be forced to see increasing numbers of patients with worsening reimbursement simply because the “system” has done a wonderful job of discouraging people from going into primary care?
Why is that my problem?
I love my patients. I love what I do and at the end of the day, if i’m forced to give mediocre care to 20-40 patients a day, well then,

I just wont do it.

Leave a Reply

